Time Well Spent

I cannot believe that I am actually managing to graduate before my children. It is a journey I thought was never going to end. There were times while pursuing this degree I felt overwhelmed and that I could not do it. These past 8 weeks I believe have been the most challenging both personally and professionally. There were days I sat here overwhelmed, tired, and feeling like I was never going to be able to complete the assignments especially after my husband and then my son were involved in car accidents a week apart. Yet, here we all are ready to end one journey and start another.

teacher
Things I have learned that I would like to share:

1. The importance of communication and how many different ways there is to communicate. In order to be a successful educator you need to have an open line of communication with the family so that you can develop a positive relationship. This will benefit the child the most.

2. I learned about the importance of a Community of Practice. Before this course I had never heard of this type of collaboration. I am glad that I learned this term and what all the benefits can be from this type of collaboration. I hope to take the Community of Practice that I developed for this class and make it real so that we can work together to improve the quality of education and care for our young children.

3. I also learned that being passionate about your work in not a hindrance like I once thought. In fact to it is a necessary component for an early childhood educator. With all the stressors that we encounter on a daily basis passion are what are going to keep you focused and on the path to meet the goals that you set for yourself as an educator.

A long-term goal for me is to promote the center/school that I work for so that I can build enough enrollment to start a first grade class. We currently have children 6 weeks-12 years and a charter kindergarten class. We are licensed for first grade and with the strike that has been going on with the local school district I believe with the right promotion I can become the first of our six centers to start a first grade class. Wish me luck!

I would like to thank all my colleagues and professor this term for all the support and feedback. I have been greatly motivated by much of what everyone has contributed. Everyone’s contributions have been enlightening. This is a bittersweet ending. I am glad to be completing my course but sad that I will no longer have the interaction with my peers. I am not sure where my future leads especially after being promoted twice in the past 9 months but without my coursework at Walden University I would not become the director of one of our locations. I still have a lot to learn but I will take what I have learned during my studies to help guide me into running a successful and quality program. Good luck to everyone in your new adventures!

educationedelmanquote-21nx0b9

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Edilma Spikes
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 21:38:47

    April,
    Best of luck as you work toward your long term goal of starting a first grade class. It has been a joy being in class with you.
    Edilma

    Reply

  2. Tamieka
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 23:11:01

    Hello April
    You really went through some incredible journeys these past months, I am glad that things worked out for you and your family. I enjoyed your quote, it was very empowering. I hope that you are successful in your career.

    Warm wishes
    Tamieka

    Reply

  3. Leslie
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 18:22:49

    Thank you April for helping to knowledge me, encourage me, and pushing me forward. Without your help I too would ‘nt have made. I surely can identify with the challenge we faced over the past 8 weeks, but we’ve made it. Thank God from above whom all blessings flow, bless us all here below, bless the children whom we are about to meet, bless the families for their children we are about to teach.

    Stay in touch leslieturner205745@att.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

