What I Have Learned

While taking this course I have learned so much more about myself and how we as educators interact with and influence the children we spend the day with. These children learn and develop based of the guidance that we give them so becoming the best anti-bias educators we can helps them to develop into open minded and accepting young adults. We must make sure that the influence that we have over these children stays positive and accepting. They are our future!

In all the years that I have been working with children I have always striven to develop a personal but professional relationship with both the children and the families. I want to continue to do this and make each and every family feel welcome and included in the classroom. As an assistant director my goal is now to make the families feel comfortable and welcome with the center as a whole. They need to feel comfortable when it is time for their child to transition to another classroom and have that same feel of being included and welcome. It is important to respect each family’s diversity while helping each of these children continues to grow and develop.

I would like to thank all my fellow students for their contributions over the past 8 weeks. It is always nice to hear about what others have to say and learn from them. I have learned a lot and hope to continue to learning from those of you I may see in future courses but I wish you all the best of luck!

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lacmec
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:44:05

    Isn’t the Assistant Director a terrific position? You get to focus on all the components of the program – families, children, teaching staff, community… I think, if you have an understanding director – you can do wonders from the assistant director position. I was fortunate during my career to have such an opportunity.
    Greg

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 23:42:55

    Through my whole degree you have been there encouraging me, praising me, and supporting me. I appreciate you more that you will ever know. You are my hero. Thank you for everthing. Happy Holidays

    Reply

Leave a Reply

