Conflict Resolution

My most recent conflict that I am experiencing is with my co-worker/boss. I have worked for the same company for 6 years. At the beginning of the summer, I was promoted to Assistant Director at one of our other locations. I have taken on many responsibilities that I am capable of doing but had not witnessed as part of the assistant directors duties. I understand that each location is going to have differences in the way things are run and how responsibilities are divided but the corporate office has dictated what they want each part of administration responsible for. The location that I came from did not have to conduct bus runs because the children we picked up and dropped of by school buses. The location I moved to has both school buses and transportation they provide. The problem with that is that there are only 5 of us who are capable of driving. Here is where my conflict comes in to play. I am being held responsible for my duties by corporate, preparing a break schedule, touring parents, bathroom breaks, getting staff out on time while ensuring there is no overtime, doing the bus runs if a driver is not available which is at least 3 days a week, and because we are short staffed, giving lunch breaks. This is just a glance at what I am responsible for and my hours are 9-6. On Friday, I walk in and do not even get a “Good morning,” the director goes straight into saying, “You really need to get on these files. There are files in here that of children who withdrew last week and medicals that expire next month.” It took everything in me to apologize and say I would get on it and not lose my mind. What I wanted to say is that if I was not so busy being everywhere else and doing everything else maybe I would have to time to do my job. I work well past my time everyday and she is consistently out at 4:30 everyday without fail because she has a daughter. I have four children who I barely see because by the time I get home it is time for dinner and then for them to get ready for bed. I also work 40 minutes away from my house. I need to find a way to express my frustration without coming off rude or insubordinate.

The center that I came from the director is more active in the building. She handles the issues that pertain to the staff such as break schedules, weekly schedules, and she does her share of bathroom and lunch breaks if necessary. It is more teamwork than what I am getting from the center that I transferred too. I often find myself coming in on the weekend to catch up on things I was not able to do during the week so that I do not get myself in trouble with our corporate office. I keep telling myself that we are both new to our positions and we need to find a system that works. She was the assistant before betting promoted, I took her position, and from what I hear, she has taken on the roll of the last director who did not do anything except what is asked of her from the corporate office.

After this weeks readings I would think that we both need to sit down and discuss what we expect from each other to be able to work together but I feel it is not going to be a win-win situation. Compromise is what I am looking for but if any of you have any suggestions I am listening. My husband says that I am going to wait too long and it is going to come out in total frustration and I am going to come off either as insubordinate or like a lunatic.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa Calhoun
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 19:02:54

    April,
    I truely understand how being over worked and under appreciated can be frustrating. I like to use the 3 R’s (relax, relate, release). Step back a moment and look at the whole picture. Your supervisor is definitely taking advantage. This weeks assignments taught us how to handle conflict, but it also told us to avoid it whenever possible. Maybe when you are not so overwhelmed you could ask for a meeting with your supervisor, one on one. I a calm manner ask what your duties includes, but at the same time, could you get a little assistance(smile).

    Often times people don’t realize you have a breaking point. If the two of you could have a low key, normal conversation with anger, you could possibly get some help. Remember the rules of calming a heated discussion. What about the diagrams on nonverbal communication. Sometimes it not what you say, but how you say it.

    We all have to work, but we all have people on our jobs who don’t do their fare share, including me. I’m overworked with a co-worker who just sits in her office waiting on me to get the reports done.

    I would suggest that you listen with respect to her feelings. While also making a mental note of what things you wish to discuss. If you feel the meeting is getting heated, interject with some problem solving skills that we learned this week. Hopefully, it won’t get to that point. Good Luck! I really feel you pain.

    Reply

  2. Hope Manuel
    Oct 07, 2012 @ 23:43:35

    I think that its best that you communicate with your director about your concerns now becuase the longer you wait, the more issues will arise and become a bigger challenge. I agree that we need to try and avoid conflict, but the longer you avoid this concern, the bigger the conflict becomes. If she is new in her position too, she may not even be aware of what she is doing and she wont be able to to fix it if shes not aware of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

