Who Am I as a Communicator?

The self-assessments that were used this week to determine my own communication anxiety, aggressiveness and listening skills were very informative. I had my husband and a co-worker complete the assessments for me as well. I was not surprised by the results of the assessment that I did on myself. The results were very accurate.

I did realize that I have two communication styles. I tend to have a different approach to the way I communicate professionally and then personally. Professionally you have to be more guarded and aware of the things you say and do and how you portray them. Personally, you can relax and speak more freely. In both I pay attention to detail and tend to shy away in groups and be better when speaking one on one.

I need to find a way to be more confident with myself so that when I am put in the position to have to speak before a group I am able to relax. I avoid these types of situations professionally and usually let someone else lead and then speak up when necessary. Personally, I just do not like being within a new group of people. I have a hard time mingling and just talking to people, I do not know. My husband and I compliment each other in that aspect because he has no problem stepping into a social situation and communicating with everyone. He is trying to help me build my confidence.

I was very enlightened by this week’s assessments.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa Calhoun
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 17:31:42

    April,
    I agrree that this weeks assessments were interesting to say the least. I’ve learned to speak in groups through my interactions a church. Although this experience was helpful, I still become nervous in the beginning. I’ve found that I have to work on my confidence and self-esteem. Before this assignment I didn’t know I had issues along these lines. I think by using your husband and a friend who truely know you, you were able to get some good response on the assessments, because they can answer effectively. Good luck with working on building up your confidence.

    Reply

  2. Anetria
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 20:53:37

    April,

    This week’s assignments were both informative and enlightening. I, too, am working on building confidence to communicate in large groups and in front of others, especially professionally. When I am around my family and friends I have no qualms about expressing my feelings and demonstrating effective communication. It seems like my communication anxiety increases at an alarmingy rate when I have to speak in front of groups. I wish you the best of luck in building your confidence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

