Perspectives on Diversity and Culture

After asking 3 different people what their definitions of culture and diversity are, I received these answers. I asked my 17-year old son, a long time friend, and one of my sisters.

1. Culture is ones background including race, ethnicity, religion, customs, and etcetera. All the traditions, beliefs, and values that my family has taught and instilled in my siblings and me.
Diversity is the mass variety of different options, people, and places. The things that make us different such as religion, money, color of our skin, and anything else that makes us different. Even though we are different, we live together learning how to accept each other.

2. Culture is how you are raised. Beliefs and traditions that were installed in you that were passed down through generations.
Diversity is different ethnicities.

3. Culture is your family traditions, the beliefs and values instilled in you by your family, your religion, as well as many other things.
Diversity is what makes everyone different. The big and little differences make us unique individuals. Diversity is what the world is made up of, a group of people who are made up of different cultures, ethnicities, religions, socioeconomic status, and so forth.

After having conversations with all three of these people I realize that they all have similar definitions of culture and diversity. Some were more specific than others were but still similar. I was quite impressed with my son and his comment about learning to live together and accepting each other. The definitions all coincide with what we are learning. Diversity they all agree is about differences among us. I was surprised that my friend who was also raised in a military family was so vague in her definition of diversity.

I do not feel that any of their definitions have had a big influence on my own thinking of these two topics. However, I am glad that my own son has paid attention to what we have been trying to teach and instill in him over the years. After all, he is a bi-racial child growing up learning about two different cultures and how we learned to bring the two together and give him and his siblings what we think is the best of both cultures.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine Krumm
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 15:03:24

    How wonderful to include your son. I think it opens up the communication between the two of you on the subject matter is important, and just over all having that open door policy about communication. Where he feels that its ok for him to share his feelings, thoughts and understanding with you. Great post thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

