My Family Culture

Scenerio: A major catastrophe has almost completely devastated the infrastructure of your country. The emergency government has decided that the surviving citizens will be best served if they are evacuated to other countries willing to take refugees. You and your immediate family are among the survivors of this catastrophic event. However, you have absolutely no input into the final destination or in any other evacuation details. You are told that your host country’s culture is completely different from your own, and that you might have to stay there permanently. You are further told that, in addition to one change of clothes, you can only take 3 small items with you. You decide to take three items that you hold dear and that represent your family culture.

The first item that I would take would by the family Bible. The Bible represents our religion and is what keeps us grounded. Whenever we are in need of answers or guidance the Bible helps us find what we need. It provides comfort whenever the family is in crisis or need.

The second item I would take would be the family photo album. It reflects the way our family has grown over the years. There are pictures of my grandparents from both sides as young children in their home countries. The album also holds wedding pictures from all generations. Pictures of when my grandparents were working the coal mines or in the military. These careers have continued throughout the current generations. These are memories that cannot be replaced and many stories have been told about these pictures and passed on to each of us to pass along to our children.

The last item I would take is a small bag that holds a baseball glove and ball. This sport is one that my family has always loved and many of us have played as children. I cannot think of a young family member at this moment that does play and have a love for the game. It is something that we started to learn how to play from the time we were old enough to hold a ball. Baseball is a big part of our family and includes not only playing but also coaching.

If I had to choose only one item, I would choose the family photo album. I have faith in what I have learned and been taught from the Bible that I can continue to pass on my religious beliefs to my children. The family album is the one materialistic item that cannot be replaced if lost. It is a journal of our family and our journey over the years. It tells a story even if it does not have any words. The small bag with the glove and ball can be recreated over time and introduced into the new countries culture through their children.

Insights that I have gained from this exercise is that I may need to create something more than a family album to represent our family culture. There are many ways to do this and when talking with my sister she had the idea of creating a blanket made from baby clothes that we found in the attic that belonged to our parents. We have all kept the outfits that we brought our children home from the hospital in and this is a great new tradition to start. It is something that our children can carry on as they become adults and start their own families in the future.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ms. Jay Cortez
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 20:38:19

    April, I can see similarities within the objects I chose to bring too. I also thought about bringing the holy bible as I agree this is a major foundation within our family’s beliefs and values too. I decided to bring just a family photo because although I have many photos throughout the house and saved onto my computer I know at least one I can keep in my pocket. I find it interesting that you picked a sport to pass down to generations. I understand in spite of a drastic tragedy or event happening with families it’s important to find comfort in either sports or entertainment. Now that I think about it I think a musical instrument (a guitar) would definitely represent one of the items that represent my family’s culture. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. sharee mitchell
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 22:54:36

    Hi April,
    Thank you for sharing your blog. Your first item was the same as my own; the bible is a book that keeps my family as well as me grounded. I enjoyed reading your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

