When I Think of Research

The insights I have gained about research from taking this course is that research is a lot of work that entails obtaining lots of information and permissions before even being able to start the actual research. A person who does research puts a lot of effort into obtaining results that are valid. I also learned how to ensure that the information I am looking at when doing research is reputable and/or valid.

I have not changed my ideas on research. I still feel that there is too much involved and just like working with children, you have to want to do it. I certainly have no desire to be part of such a tedious and complicated process. I do appreciate those who dedicated to being part of the research process so that we may learn from it.

When developing a research topic you have to make sure that you are very specific with your questions. If your question is too broad, you are going to run into many problems. My problem I think was finding the right way to simplify my question and develop the research off that. I honestly think that I have too many variables that can affect the outcome of my research question. Being able to simplify it so that it is very specific has been difficult.

I do have a newfound respect for those who conduct research. It takes a dedicated professional to be able to conduct research to help us find answers to those important questions that are going to help us understand our children better. I am glad that there are professional out there dedicated to asking the questions and willing to find the answers because honestly I could not do it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 21:44:46

    April,
    I agree that there is so much to think about and do before you can begin to do research. I can understand why you wouldn’t want to do research. I think if the opportunity to be a part of a research study presented itself, I would consider doing it. I wouldn’t want to take the lead, but I think it might be interesting to be a part of! Thanks for all you have shared in this class…I look forward to sharing more in the next one!

    Reply

  2. terrance riley
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 23:29:04

    I agree with you both research is very valuable. It helps you to find information that you probably wouldn’t find on your own. I also have much respect for the researchers before us who paved the way.

    Reply

  3. Lesli
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 00:32:12

    April you have been a great supporter since I began my studies at Walden. I hope we keep in touch and wish you the best. Like research I would have not met you and other people like you that have my best interest. I will continue to keep in touch and look forward to you sharing you knowledge. Colleagues til the end and beyond. Thak you so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

