Your Personal Research Journey

The topic I chose to for my research simulation is on children with behavioral problems. This is something that many early childhood programs have to deal with and it is making it hard to maintain and educational atmosphere. The subtopic that I have chosen to look at more closely is how the stress/strain of the preschoolers home life. The stress that the parents are enduring may possible be a source of the child’s behavior.

I chose the topic of behavior problems because I tend to attract the children who have this issue. I currently have a couple of children who experience behavior problems but one in particular who I would love to be able to possible understand and help him learn to control his anger and body. It is very hard to educate and give the other children the attention they deserve when you are focused on the behavior of one because they are disrupting class or threatening to do harm to themselves or others. All the children deserve an educating and fun fulfilled day that does not happen when you have a child with negative behaviors. Then when dealing with preschoolers they still are into imitating so if one is acting negatively you can guarantee that another is going to start behaving negatively to gain the attention.

I am still filling in the remainder of the chart but I have learned a lot when it pertains to some of the terms. It helps you to gain a better understanding versus just reading the assignment. I hope to gain more knowledge and understanding of the terms and research process as we proceed through this class.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal
    May 13, 2012 @ 23:35:28

    This is a good topic to research. There are many times that children with behavior problems are left out due to no knowing how to effectively work with them or knowing the source of the behavioral issues. I used to be a Qualified Mental Health Professional and I worked with this girl on my case that had various childhood behavioral as well as mental disorders. After speaking with her mother I found out that she too suffered from childhood behavioral problems but out grew them. This is a nice research topic. I look forward to reading more.
    Crystal

    Reply

  2. Lesli
    May 14, 2012 @ 01:45:31

    Do all children with behavioral problems need medication? Help me answer this question. You have chosen an excellent topic, one which I have personal interest in. My grandson has some porblems, but I don’t think that his parents should be given him medication.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

