Getting to Know Your International Contacts–Part 3

UNESCO (Untied Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) advocates for the education and care of young children. There is a lot to learn about early childhood education internationally as well as here in the United States.

Literacy is a focus that UNESCO shares with early childhood educators. UNESCO is working to help promote and improve literacy by keeping it high on the national, regional, and international agendas.

There are approximately 40 million illiterate adults and roughly 7 million illiterate children many whom are out of school. The goal of the Revitalizing Adult and Youth Literacy in Nigeria programme for the next 3 years in is to educate 4-5 million adults and 2 million of the children who are out of school.

I learned that UNESCO advocates for programs that attend to the health, nutrition, security, and the children’s holistic development. They also organized the first World Conference for the ECCE (Early Childhood Care and Education) which culminated the global action agenda.

My professional goals are to continue to educate myself and maintain knowledgeable on what it takes to be a good advocate for children. I have devoted my life and career to caring and educating the children around me whether it continues to be in the classroom or with the children I coach. I have not decided how far I want to take my education of my career development. At the moment I am very happy in the classroom. Although I also do not want to close the door on any opportunities or options that may come available to me in the future to further both my education and/or career.

Reference
http://www.unesco.org/new/en/education/themes/strengthening-education-systems/early-childhood/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkelly07
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 10:34:53

    April,

    Thank you for sharing UNESCO’s information on literacy. I think your goal to stay educated and abreast of topics is wise.

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 00:09:37

    Thanks April for the information on Internation learning and education. I am considering visiting China to learn their teaching values and curriculum. Looking at your information I may decide to visit another country as well. We are needed everywhere. Much success in you endeavors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

