Sharing Web Resources

I have become very familiar with NIEER website.  I have been exploring it over the past few weeks and have subscribed to their e-newsletter.  Some of the outside links that this site directs you to are to other websites that have information directly related to the topic you are looking at.  Here a few that have to do with quality and curriculum; Connect for Kids, Early Childhood Education Initiative of The Pew Charitable Trusts, Education Policy Studies Laboratory, and High/Scope Educational Research Foundation.

The e-newsletter offers consistent up to date research for early childhood educators.  One of their most recent newsletters included longitudinal studies for children ages 3-14 who have attended high quality preschool programs that have positively affected science, math, and social-emotional outcomes and measures.

The website also connects you to articles and news reports pertaining to early childhood news.  The connections can have anything to do with early childhood.  The one blog/report that caught my attention was an ABC News report on Too few kids getting outdoors with mom or dad.  This website continues to impress me with all the resources and information that it makes available.  It is a great resource to have and use.

 

References:

Allen, J. (2012, April 03). Too few kids getting outside with mom or dad. Retrieved from http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/health/2012/04/03/too-few-kids-getting-outdoors-with-mom-or-dad/

www.nieer.org

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moneshia
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 23:23:14

    Im glad you were able to share this resource. I believe in getting children outside to play. My children at work go out everyday. I even take them out when there’s a little rain and they love it. My family members and parents always made us go outside when weather permitted, and I go out with my own now every chance we get. I like to keep them active.

    Reply

  2. LaTina Johnson
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 00:14:31

    I have been on this web site a few time over the past couple of months, it is very informative and I have began to use it alot to get information to my parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

