My Supports

“Nothing is impossible the word itself says, ‘I’m Possible’!” ~Audrey Hepburn

 

My supports I have daily come from my husband, my four children, and funny enough my boss.  These are the people who I interact with on a daily basis and are there to inspire me when I am feeling overwhelmed and like I want to just give up on school.  My husband is probably my best supporter.  It is funny to think that as much of a hard as he gives me about school he has gone out of his way to make sure that I feel like I have accomplished something.  He did this after I received my bachelor’s degree this summer.  He created a picture frame with a smaller version of my degree and pictures of me and the children.  He even photo shopped a picture of me in a cap and gown and used scrap booking letters to put inspirational messages on it. It was a very thoughtful gift that hangs in our living room (he put it there not me).  He said he wanted me to know how proud of me he was, that I managed to finish despite everything going on in our lives.  I work two jobs and I am currently the sole provider for the family.  He helps by shuttling the children to their sporting and school events and has dinner ready when I come home from work.  It does not seem like much but it really does help.  I appreciate what he does try to do to make the day less stressful.

 

My children I think are truly, what keep me going.  I did not go to college right after high school instead I had a family to take care of.  I look back at what I did in high school and the choices I made and I DO NOT regret any of them but I want better for my children.  My oldest is in college at West Virginia University pursuing a master’s in education for English and Creative Writing.  My 16-year old is going to be a senior next school year and is very involved and already applying and visiting colleges.  My 13-year old is the one I need to influence quickly.  Due to medical issues, constantly in, and out the hospital he has little ambition when it comes to school.  All the teachers say he is smart he just has not interest in doing the work or staying for tutoring.  He says it is pointless because he is just going to end up in the hospital and fall behind again.  I have a lot of work to do when it comes to him.  Then there is my youngest, my daughter, I want her to get the most out of life.  I do not want her to graduate and immediately start raising a family.  I think all parents want that for their children though.  I have to prove to them that an education is important and even though my path in life has been challenging I am still fulfilling my dream.  My 16-year says that I have done it all backwards but that I am doing it and that is all that matters.

 

The challenge that I constantly have to deal with is my son’s illness.  It has put him in the hospital numerous time followed by multiple test and doctor’s appointments.  My baby boy is 13-years old and has surgery 8 times already.  When he is in the hospital I do not go to work, I stay by his side the entire time.  My husband cannot even get me to walk to the cafeteria when he is asleep.  I have seen too many children as we walk the halls that are by themselves all day and have no clue what is going on.  It is very sad to see and I refuse for that to be my child.  I have tried to let my husband stay and work half a day but my director could see how stressed I was so she would send me back to the hospital.  I am very thankful that the center I work for is very family oriented and as long as I keep the director constantly informed, then our corporate office has no issue with me taking care of my child whenever I need to.  My husband during these times cares for our other children as well as making sure that I have food.  My schoolwork has not been affected adversely because I am able to work on assignments while he is resting.  They may not be my best work but I give it all I have at the time and ensure that they are turned in on time.  This can be frustrating because although the hospital offers free internet the signal is horrible and intermittent.   I do not know what I would do if I did not have my husband to pick up the pieces for me when I have to give one child my full attention.  As for my job, I probably would have been fired by now if I did not have such a good employer who is family oriented and that I have been completely honest.  I also make sure that when I am able to I come in early or work late to show that I am dedicated to my job and it is the least I can do for them allowing me such great leniency.  As stressful as a sick child, 3 healthy children, 2 jobs, life, and school are I do not think I could get through the day if I did not have those beautiful faces to come home to or the my husband, my rock who continues to put up with crabbiness and long nights doing homework, laundry, and lesson plans.  I love them all and they make this all possible and worth it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adaiah Negron
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 23:17:01

    What an extraordinary challenge you have with your son’s illness. I can’t imagine how difficult that would be without having the support of the people who have really been helping to support you through that. It is such a blessing and I hope that their support continues to inspire you just as reading this has inspired me. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Shelley Underhill
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 16:33:04

    Your husband sounds like mine in a lot of ways as far as supporting you in practical ways so you can get your education. I know I couldn’t do it alone! I too finished my bachelors degree last June. At 53, learning is very different than at the age of 18. There is so much more technology and standards are much higher.

    Reply

  3. Leslie
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 00:50:50

    You are a prize. I’m sure when this is all over they’ll see that all things are possible. keep encouraging, and keep doing what you are doing. Life is full of ups and downs, god oes not put more on us that we can handle.

    Reply

  4. Leslie
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 00:52:33

    God with a big “G” (*_*)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

